Journal of Clothing Science
Journal of Clothing Science
           

2019, Vol. 4, No. 2. - go to content...

Permanent address of this page - https://kostumologiya.ru/en/13ivkl219.html

Метаданные этой статьи так же доступны на русском языке

Full article in PDF format (file size: 1.8 MB)


For citation:

Parfenova M.A., Makarova T.L. (2019). Symbolism of color in the design of the costume characters of the film. Journal of Clothing Science, [online] 2(4). Available at: https://kostumologiya.ru/PDF/13IVKL219.pdf (in Russian).


Symbolism of color in the design of the costume characters of the film

Parfenova Margarita Andreevna
Russian state university named A.N. Kosygin (Technologies. Design. Art), Moscow, Russia
E-mail: owlkorol@gmail.ru

Makarova Tatiana Lvovna
Russian state university named A.N. Kosygin (Technologies. Design. Art), Moscow, Russia
E-mail: 11suntm@gmail.com

Abstract. Films play an important role in modern society. They have penetrated into all spheres of culture of different countries and from childhood have an impact on human life. One of the main components in creating films is to create an image of costumes. This work is devoted to the study and analysis of the image of the costumes of characters in films, namely the symbolism of color.

In the image characterizing the character, artists or designers pay special attention to the selection of color of the costume. Color without words can say a lot: about taste and preferences, intentions and mood, character and origin. It complements and balances the frame, decorates the picture and emphasizes when necessary.

The article discusses the color symbolism of the costumes of various characters in films of fantasy and fantasy genres. Fantasy and fiction genres were chosen because of the abundance of monochrome and exaggerated images for more accurate analysis.

Based on watching high-rated films and analyzing the main characters for 2009–2018, specific conclusions were drawn for each color (white, gray, black, red, orange, yellow, green, blue, blue, purple, pink, gold, silver) , as well as in comparison with the generally accepted theoretical opinion about the symbol of color in general. According to the results of research and analysis, the symbolism of the color of the costumes of the characters does not always coincide with standard representations. Costume designers are experimenting with the use of those colors that will look more profitable in the frame and reveal the essence of the characters.

Keywords: A film; film characters; color symbolism; color meaning; color symbolism in films; color symbolism of costumes; costume; character image; movie costumes; movie character costumes; symbolism; color; costume designer

Download article in PDF format

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.

ISSN 2587-8026 (Online)

Dear readers! Comments on articles are accepted in Russian and English.
Comments are moderated and appear on the site after verification by the editor.
Comments not related to the subject of the article are not published.

Добавить комментарий

Журнал «Костюмология»
           

2019 №2 - перейти к содержанию номера...

Постоянный адрес этой страницы - https://kostumologiya.ru/13ivkl219.html

This article metadata is also available in English

Полный текст статьи в формате PDF (объем файла: 1.8 Мбайт)


Ссылка для цитирования этой статьи:

Парфенова М.А., Макарова Т.Л. Символика цвета в дизайне костюма персонажей фильмов // Костюмология, 2019 №2, https://kostumologiya.ru/PDF/13IVKL219.pdf (доступ свободный). Загл. с экрана. Яз. рус., англ.


Символика цвета в дизайне костюма персонажей фильмов

Парфенова Маргарита Андреевна
ФГБОУ ВО «Российский государственный университет имени А.Н. Косыгина
(Технологии. Дизайн. Искусство)», Москва, Россия
E-mail: owlkorol@gmail.ru

Макарова Татьяна Львовна
ФГБОУ ВО «Российский государственный университет имени А.Н. Косыгина
(Технологии. Дизайн. Искусство)», Москва, Россия
Профессор
Доктор искусствоведения, доцент
Член ВТОО «Союз художников России» и Международной ассоциации
изобразительных искусств – АИАП ЮНЕСКО (IAA UNESCO)
E-mail: 11suntm@gmail.com
РИНЦ: http://elibrary.ru/author_profile.asp?id=622882
ResearChgate: https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Tatiana_Makarova2
SCOPUS: http://www.scopus.com/authid/detail.url?authorId=24758853100

Аннотация. Фильмы играют важную роль в современном обществе. Они проникли во все области культуры разных стран и с детства оказывают влияние на жизнь человека. Одной из главных составляющих при создании кинокартины является создание образа костюмов. Данная работа посвящена исследованию и анализу образа костюмов персонажей фильмов, а именно – символике цвета.

В образе, который характеризует персонажа, художники или дизайнеры особое внимание уделяют подбору цвета костюма. Цвет без слов может сказать о многом: о вкусе и предпочтениях, намерениях и настроении, характере и происхождении. Он дополняет и уравновешивает кадр, украшает картину и делает акцент там, где необходимо.

В статье рассматривается символика цвета костюмов различных персонажей фильмов жанров фэнетзи и фантастика. Жанры фэнтези и фантастика были выбраны из-за обилия монохромных и утрированных образов для более точного проведения анализа.

Основываясь на просмотре фильмов с высоким рейтингом и анализе главных персонажей за 2009–2018 гг., были сделаны выводы конкретно о каждом цвете (белый, серый, черный, красный, оранжевый, желтый, зеленый, голубой, синий, фиолетовый, розовый, золотой, серебряный), а также сопоставлены с распространённым теоретическим мнением о символе цвета в целом. По результатам исследования и анализа, символика цвета костюмов персонажей не всегда совпадает со стандартными представлениями. Художники по костюмам экспериментируют, используют те цвета, которые будут более выигрышно смотреться в кадре и раскрывать суть персонажей.

Ключевые слова: фильм; персонажи фильмов; символика цвета; значение цвета; символика цвета в фильмах; символика цвета костюмов; костюм; образ персонажа; костюмы в фильмах; костюмы персонажей фильмов; символика; цвет; художник по костюмам

Скачать

Creative Commons License
Контент доступен под лицензией Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.

ISSN 2587-8026 (Online)

Уважаемые читатели! Комментарии к статьям принимаются на русском и английском языках.
Комментарии проходят премодерацию, и появляются на сайте после проверки редактором.
Комментарии, не имеющие отношения к тематике статьи, не публикуются.

Добавить комментарий